General Skilled Migration

General Skilled migration

General Skilled Migration

Otherwise known as “the points visa”. The purpose of the Skilled Migration Program is to attract highly employable people for migration to Australia. It is the most common form of migration to Australia.

There are a variety of GSM options. Most require that you first lodge an Expression of Interest and thereafter be invited by the Australian Department of Immigration to apply.

Once you are invited to apply for a skilled visa, you must lodge your application within 60 days, otherwise the invitation lapses. Accordingly, it is very important that you have all required documentation prepared to lodge as soon as possible after receiving the invitation. The visa alternatives under this pathway include:

Skilled Independent

Permanent visa option, the skilled independent does not require sponsorship by a relative or state/territory government.

Skilled Nominated

A permanent visa requiring nomination by an Australian State or Territory government.

Skilled Nominated or Sponsored Provisional

This is a 4-year provisional visa which allows holders to live only in certain areas of Australia. You would need to be sponsored by an Australian relative living in a designated area, or by a state or territory government.

Skilled Regional 

The skilled regional sponsored visa is the permanent stage of the provisional skilled migration visas. To qualify for a skilled regional visa, you must live in the required region of Australia for 2 years and work full time there for 12 months.

Contact MCA Legal for a no-obligation initial assessment of which alternative is your immigration solution.

Book a consultation with one of our specialized staff!